I am really bad at variety in the winter season, and I know it’s not the winter season yet; we are still in fall, but it’s so damn cold outside. All I want to do is bundle up on the couch, blast the heat in my face and pray to God my dogs will figure out how to use the potty. There is no variety in my clothing when it’s cold outside; my options are jeans and blue sweater with gray scarf or jeans and black sweater with purple scarf. With food, sorry, but it gets worse, it’s soup or chili. Really that’s the only thing that does it for me. I promise to try and overcome this problem and prevent a very boring blog this winter.

Sweet & Spicy Chili

Ingredients:

2 lbs ground beef
1 Tablespoon olive oil
1 medium onion chopped
1 garlic cloves
2 24oz cans red kidney beans (drained)
1 Tablespoon chili powder
1 Tablespoon cayenne pepper
1 16 oz can of diced tomatoes
2 Tablespoons of tomato paste
2 Tablespoons of ground cumin
½ teaspoon of salt
½ teaspoon of ground black pepper
2 jalapenos (deveined, deseed and chopped)
¼ cup brown sugar, packed
Cheddar cheese, grated

Directions:

In a 4-quart heavy saucepan cook onions in oil over moderate heat, stirring occasionally, until golden brown. Add the tomato paste, diced tomatoes, kidney beans, garlic, cumin, chili powder, cayenne pepper, salt and pepper, jalapenos and bring to simmer. While this is simmering, brown beef in a large skillet. Drain the beef, and season with salt and pepper. Stir the beef into the mixture. Add brown sugar to taste. Cook for 30 minutes stirring occasionally. Serve with grated cheese.

Posted by:Carrie

Hi! My name is Carrie. I started this blog 11 years ago when I was newly married. We had no kids, only two little furbabies. I loved to cook back then. It was so rewarding to see how I could combine ingredients that I had never tried and make this really wonderful meal. Fast forward 11 years and now I have two boys, 6 and 8 years old. They are literally the toughest critics I have ever fed. Which, let's face it, makes cooking less fun. My goal for this site is to involve my entire family in our meals and post our progress in the kitchen... Lord willing and the creek don't rise.

Leave a comment