• Craving!

    Nachos with lots of cheese!
  • Categories

Maryland Crab Cakes

Most of you know I am from North Carolina. So, how do I know so much about Maryland Crab Cakes? Well, my mom is from Maryland. So, my vacation half of me grew up in Baltimore and Ocean City, Maryland. My vacation half doesn’t have the accent though, but she does know a thing or two about a blue crab. For starters, I know the difference between a male and female.


The first picture is a male, or a Jimmy. The second picture is an immature female, she-crab. At this point she cannot carry eggs, so she is safe, if you happen to get one. The third picture, is a mature female. The apron opens in order to mate and carry eggs. The egg part has grossed me out since I was little, so I usually pass on these. Aside from being able to differentiate crab parts. I can also, clean, steam, catch, and eat them all with my hands tied behind my back. Alright, I actually have never tried, not sure that would be such a great idea.

Alright, enough about me, the crab cakes. My parents’ friends gave me a dozen steamed blue crabs, all of them were good size males. They had lots of leftovers after their annual Crabfest. Yay for me! I have always cleaned my own crabs, but I am pretty sure you can buy backfin crabmeat from the grocery store; I know you can buy it from a fish market. However you get it you will need at least 1 pound of backfin meat.

To the pound of crabmeat, add 1 tablespoon of Mayo, 1 tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce and egg (beat). After mixing this together, crumble up 2 slices of bread and add 1-2 tablespoon of parsley, 1 tablespoon of baking powder.
In large mixing bowl
1 lb crabmeat
1 tablespoon Mayo
1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
1 egg
2 slices of bread
1-2 tablespoon of Parsley
1 tablespoon Baking Powder

After mixing all together, make into individual patties.

In a separate bowl put a cup of bread crumbs and a tablespoon of Old Bay. Dip patties into dish, on both sides. Put patties on a separate plate.
Separate mixing bowl
1 cup bread crumbs
Old Bay, I start at 1 tablespoon and add more seasoning from that point.

Fry patties in a skillet with a little oil and butter until the outsides are brown.

And you have yummy crab cakes. Well, I don’t anymore. My husband ate them all.

Leave a Reply

