• Craving!

    Nachos with lots of cheese!
  • Categories

Blueberry Muffins

Blueberries

Blueberries

I have been dying to go to Farmer’s Market for months. I’m less and less happy with the produce available at the grocery stores, plus the prices are getting ridiculously expensive. The grocery stores have fruits and veggies from California, Texas and Florida. First of all, North Carolina is not close to any of those states. That is a pretty long drive to get here. Second thing, we are an agricultural state, and not just of tobacco and sweet potatoes. I mean we have schools and programs dedicated to agriculture. Yet the grocery store owner gets California, Texas and Florida to ship everything. I just don’t understand. And just a note to all the Californians, Texans and Floridians out there, I have no problem eating the fruits and veggies when I am there in your state, because they are fresh. When they are shipped here and land in the produce section a week or so later…not so fresh. I’m just saying grocery store owner.

So Friday Sam and I went to the Farmer’s Market. I really just wanted to see what was there; I ended up coming home with blueberries, squash, zucchini, okra, cantaloupe, tomatoes, sweet corn and a sugar baby, which is a type of watermelon. I will be going back as much as I possibly can, I love it. Here are the blueberry muffins I made earlier in the week. I never thought to add cinnamon, but oh my I think I might be in love with cinnamon.


½ cup butter, soften
1 cup sugar
2 eggs, beaten
½ cup milk
2 cups flour
2 tsp baking powder
½ tsp salt
1 – 1 ¼ tsp ground cinnamon
2 cups fresh blueberries
2 tbsp sugar, topping

Method:
Preheat oven to 375 degrees
In a medium mixing bowl, cream together butter and sugar. Add eggs and mix well. Stir in milk. Combine dry ingredients and add to mixture. Stir to combine. Gently fold the blueberries into the mixture. Fill greased muffin cups 2/3 full. Sprinkle tops with a little sugar.
Bake for 20 minutes or until lightly brown.

Leave a Reply

