• Craving!

    Nachos with lots of cheese!
  • Categories

Rigatoni with Fresh Basil and Ricotta

I fix a lot of baked pastas, baked ziti, baked spaghetti, baked macaroni; throw a bunch of cheese on some pasta with all the fixings, yummy. I am definetly a pasta person. I didn’t want to bake this though because I was making cookies, which I will get to later. Since I do love pasta so much I should really get one of those snazzy pasta makers, but it seems like those pasta makers only make the flat noodles. I guess I will just have to find somewhere that sells fresh noodles, but see we live in the South. It is very difficult to find thing like fresh noodles, we might have one store in my town. Although, if you want something fried we are your people; well, I’m not your people, because I am liable to burn the house down, but you get where I am going with this. So, on this particular “yuck” Monday I am making Rigatoni with Fresh Basil and Ricotta, Marcus would rather have fried chicken and greens. I don’t think that combo will ever come out of my kitchen. Although, I might eat my words one day.

Rigatoni with Fresh Basil and Ricotta

2 ½ cups basic tomato sauce
1 teaspoon kosher salt
1 pound Barilla Rigatoni
1 lb ground beef
¼ cup fresh basil leaves, lightly packed
1 cup Ricotta
1 garlic clove, minced (optional)

Method
1. Bring 6 quarts of water to a boil in a large pot and add 2 tablespoons salt.
2. Meanwhile in a 14 to 16-inch sauté pan, brown ground beef. Cook thoroughly and drain.
3. Add tomato sauce to ground beef heat over medium heat. Once the mixture comes to a boil, and garlic and reduce the heat and simmer for 15 minutes or until the sauce is thick.
3. Cook the Barilla Rigatoni in the boiling water 1 minute less than the package instructions. Drain the pasta and add to the pan with the sauce. Toss gently for about 10 seconds. Tear the basil leaves into a few pieces and add to the sauce. Add the ricotta and toss together for 1 minute. Pour into a heated bowl and serve immediately.

2 Responses

  1. wow, this looks delicous! I found your great blog today via the foodie blog roll.

  2. This dressing is indicated for the pasta home of Basilicata, congratulations.

Leave a Reply

