• Craving!

    Nachos with lots of cheese!
  • Categories

Father’s Day Gift Buckets

This year for Father’s Day I decided to do gift buckets; actually, I was going to do baskets, but my sister thought buckets would be more useful for dads. Saturday my sister and I fixed 3 buckets, for 3 Dads. I made cupcakes Friday that I decided were going in the buckets. For some reason I made the icing pink and yellow, I guess Father’s Day wasn’t on my brain Friday evening.

White cupcakes, vanilla buttercream icing

I am really frustrated because my laptop is on the fritz, so I have to use my husband’s computer which is not photo friendly. At this point I can’t even crop a frickin picture….grrr. Anywho, back to my festive Father’s Day cupcakes. I bought a Hey There Cupcake, by Clare Crespo which has insane pictures of the coolest cupcakes. Obviously, these are not her picture perfect cupcakes, but I did steal the recipe from her.

White Cupcakes
3 cups all purpose flour
2 ½ tsp baking powder
½ tsp salt
2/3 cups unsalted butter, softened
1 ¾ cups sugar
2 eggs
1 ¼ cups whole milk
1 tsp vanilla extract

Method
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Prepared cupcake tins.
2. Sift the flour, baking powder, and salt together into a medium bowl.
3. In a separate bowl, larger bowl, cream the butter. Gradually add the sugar, creaming until light and fluffy.
4. Add the eggs one at a time, and beat well after each addition.
5. In a small bowl, combine the milk and vanilla.
6. To the butter mixture, ad about one quarter of the flour mixture and mix well. Add about one quarter of the milk mixture, beating after each addition until smooth.
7. Pour the batter into the cupcakes tins. Bake for 15 to 20 minutes, until the cake springs back when touched.
8. Remove from the oven and let cool for about 10 minutes, then turn the cupcakes out of the tins and onto a rack to finish cooling completely.

Vanilla Butter Cream Frosting
½ cup unsalted butter, softened
4 cups powdered sugar
½ tsp salt
1/3 cup whole milk
1 tsp vanilla extract

Method
1. In a large bowl, cream the butter until smooth.
2. Add the powdered sugar, salt, milk and vanilla and mix until smooth and creamy.
3. Add whatever frosting coloring you choose.

Note: This recipe makes about 18 cupcakes. I used a regular muffin pan for the first 12, they turn out delicious. I also used a silicone muffin pan thing for the last six, not as good. They took longer to bake and they just didn’t look as nice.

Also, in the buckets were Granny’s Famous Raspberry Buns, which I finally have the recipe for.

½ lb flour
Pinch of salt
1 tsp baking powder
3 oz butter or margarine, softened
3 oz sugar
1 egg
A little milk
Raspberry Preserves or Jam

Method
Preheat oven 350 degrees F. Grease baking sheets. Sift the flour, baking powder, and salt into a bowl and add in the butter or margarine. Add the sugar and beaten egg. Add a little milk.
Divide the mixture into about 8 walnut-size balls and place them on the baking sheet, allowing space for them to spread slightly during cooking.
Make a small hole in the center of each ball and spoon in a little raspberry jam. Cover the jam with the dough from the sides of each ball.
Bake for 10 to 15 minutes.

In the end our buckets turned out nice.

Father's Day Gift Bucket

3 Responses

  1. I just found your blog on Foodie Blogroll. It is very nice. Your buckets are adorable and a great idea!

  2. I just love your bucket idea-they look lovely.

  3. I’ll have to try your grannie’s raspberry rolls. If the recipe is worth passing down it’s worth trying. Love the cupcakes.

Leave a Reply

