• Craving!

    Nachos with lots of cheese!
  • Categories

English Raspberry Buns

I have seen tons of Raspberry Bun recipes on the internet. Some look like donuts with raspberry perserve in the middle, actually most look like that. I found maybe a couple that resemble the raspberry buns I grew up on. The raspberry buns I know are crumbly, they look more like a scone, not a doughnut. I decided to go straight to the source to get the recipe, my Granny. Granny has been making raspberry buns for my family as long as I can remember.

My Dad’s family is from England, so the fact that I can find a few English recipes that don’t include throwing everything into a pie shell and baking it thrills me beyond belief. Although, my Shepard’s Pie is insanely good. Anyway, back to Raspberry Buns. This recipe is defintely trial and error, and those are Granny’s words. You don’t want them to be mushy, they’re suppose to crumble.

I will have to post the recipe later. I think I accidently threw away the piece of paper I wrote it down on. I will just have to get it from Granny again.½ lb flour
Pinch of salt
1 tsp baking powder
3 oz butter or margarine, softened
3 oz sugar
1 egg
A little milk
Raspberry Preserves or Jam

Method
Preheat oven 350 degrees F. Grease baking sheets. Sift the flour, baking powder, and salt into a bowl and add the butter or margarine. Add the sugar and beaten egg. Add a little milk.
Divide the mixture into about 8 walnut-size balls and place them on the baking sheet, allowing space for them to spread slightly during cooking.
Make a small hole in the center of each bal1 and spoon in a little raspberry jam. Cover the jam with the dough from the sides of each ball.
Bake for 10 to 15 minutes

One Response

  1. Hey, I’ve made these in the past also from my Mother’s recipe and they are great. I have found that the older the cook, the more reticent they are to remember all the ingredients – so, good luck with Granny!

Leave a Reply

