• Craving!

    Nachos with lots of cheese!
  • Categories

Strawberry Delight

mmmm….. I love strawberry delight. I was supposed to be starting my strict workout regiment today, but I decided to make Strawberry Delight instead. See the problem is I loathe the gym. I live within walking distance of my gym, but on such a pretty day who wants to be in the gym? Yuck not me! Marcus felt exactly the same, at least as soon as I started making the crumbly crust part. Smells so good.

I used to be able to find Edy’s churned or whipped Strawberries and Cream ice cream. I have no idea what happen to this flavor because I seriously searched for it,and found nothing resembling what I used to buy. What the Hell Edy’s this ice cream was Heaven!

I would guess most people know how to make some version of Strawberry Delight. But this is mine;

1 stick of butter

1 cup flour

1/4 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup almonds, slivered

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Melt the butter. In a bowl combine flour, brown sugar and almonds. Mix together while adding the melted butter. The mixture will get crumbly. Drop the mixture onto a cookie sheet. It does not have to be in balls, it will end up being crumbled anyway. Bake for 20 to 25 minutes.

After the crumble has cooled, place half of the mixture into a 9 by 9-inch pan. Scoop ice cream on top, I use 1 gallon of strawberry ice cream. Then spread the rest of the crumble mixture on top of the ice cream. Wrap pan with plastic wrap and place into freezer so the Strawberrry Delight can harden, about 2 hours.

The ice cream hardens and makes it a little easier to serve.

Whipped cream is good on top too!

Leave a Reply

