• Craving!

    Nachos with lots of cheese!
  • Categories

Off the Hook Chipotle-Lime Chicken

My aunt bought me a slow cooker when I moved into my first apartment my sophomore year of college. I have to admit, in college I don’t think I actually used it once. However now I love to bring out my slow cooker. It is so easy to throw a meat and some sauce in a slow cooker and when you come home it’s all done, and the house smells amazing. I didn’t cook much all weekend, so I wanted to make a nice dinner for Sunday, and Marc loves this Chipotle-Lime Chicken. I got the recipe straight off the food network maybe two years ago, I love that website. The chicken is also made with Jamaican rice and bean, very easy to make. I usually cook the chicken on low so it takes 6-7 hours to cook and the chicken is almost falling apart. I use instant rice so right before the chicken is ready I fix up the rice which takes about 10 minutes. It is so good. Marc usually eats on it all night long and I have no leftovers for lunch.

1 cup sliced onion

1 cup chopped celery

1 cup chopped carrot

2 pounds skinless chicken thighs – you could use more chicken up to 4lbs for the amount of sauce made

Salt and freshly ground pepper

1 (15 oz) can of tomato sauce

¼ cup lime juice

1 tablespoon minced chipotle chiles in adobo sauce with 1 teaspoon sauce from can

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 avocado, diced

¼ cup chopped fresh cilantro leaves

Lime wedges, for garnish

Arrange onion, celery and carrots in bottom of slow cooker. Season chicken thighs with salt and pepper and arrange over vegetables.

In a medium bowl, whisk together tomato sauce, lime juice, chipotle chiles with sauce, and garlic. Pour mixture over chicken.

Cover and cook on low for 6 to 8 hours or on high for 3 to 4 hours. Serve thighs topped with diced avocado and cilantro.

Jamaican Rice and Beans:

2 cups instant white rice

1 (14 oz) can of coconut milk

1 cup water

1 (15 oz) can red beans, drained

1 teaspoon dried thyme

½ teaspoon finely grated lime zest

¼ cup chopped scallions

Salt and freshly ground pepper

In a medium sauce pan, combine rice, coconut milk, water, beans, thyme, and lime zest. Set pan over high heat and bring to a simmer. Reduce heat to low cover and simmer for 5 minutes until liquid is absorbed. Fold in scallions and season to tast with salt and pepper.

Leave a Reply

