• Craving!

    Nachos with lots of cheese!
  • Categories

Linguine with creamy mushroom sauce…and sweet peas

I have been itching to get my first post and get my new blog rolling. I wanted to make an over the top meal for dinner tonight, with dessert. Marcus, my husband, had other plans, he wanted to go to Lowe’s to a few plants and hangers for the front yard… my fancy meal flew out the window. We really aren’t gardening people, but Marc likes the front of the house to look good; so we pick out a fern, some flowers, and 3 hanging pots. Two hours later the fern was re-potted, hanging pots were hanging, and I was starving!

Marcus had to go to work late tonight so I figured I could get away with a vegetarian meal for myself. My Granny bought me a Vegetarian Cookbook Food Made Fast from William Sonoma when Marc and I got married and I love the recipes, but Marc is a meat and potatoes kind of guy. Although, most of my veggie adventures come out quite good and he really likes them. But tonight the pups and I were home alone so we made;

Linguine with creamy mushroom sauce and sweet peas.

Olive Oil, 2 Tbs

Button mushrooms, 6 oz

Shiitake mushrooms (WS calls for Cremini, our grocery store was out), 6 oz

Unfrozen sweet peas, 1 bag

Garlic minced, 1-2 Cloves

Dried Thyme, 1/2 tsp

Dry vermouth, I used dry white wine, 1/4 cup

Salt and freshly ground black pepper

Linguine, 1lb

Sour Cream, 1/2cup

Cayenne pepper, pinch or more

Fresh flat-leaf (Italian) parsley, 2 Tbs chopped

To Make the Sauce:

In a frying pan warm the oil medium-high heat. Add the mushrooms and saute until they have released most of their liquid, about 5 minutes. Stir in the garlic and thyme and cook, stirring until the mushrooms are golden, 4-5 minutes more. Add the sweet peas and the white wine or vermouth, and cook stirring until the alcohol has evaporated, about 2 minutes. Season to taste with salt and pepper and remove from heat.

To Make the Pasta:

Meanwhile, bring a large pot of water to boil add 2 tablespoons salt and the pasta to the boiling water. Cook and stir occasionally. Once the pasta is ready, drain, saving about 1/2 cup of the cooking water to use if needed in the cream sauce (I did not use any extra water). Add the pasta to the mushroom and sweet pea sauce along with the sour cream and cayenne. Stir to combine. Warm briefly over low heat to combine the flavors. This is when you would add the cooking water if it is needed. Stir in the parsley and serve.

Leave a Reply

