• Craving!

    Nachos with lots of cheese!
  • Categories

Curried Chicken Salad

chicken salad

Ok. So I didn’t make blackened chicken salad last night, I just wasn’t feeling it. I did; however, make Curried Chicken Salad. I got the idea from Foodiecall’s Blog,who made Curry Egg Salad that looked so good I had to try it. I was a little worried that my husband might not dig my “chick food” chicken salad, so I opted to get him one of those rotisserie chickens from the grocery store, you know…just in case.

I had about 2 pounds of chicken breast thawed. I put the chicken in a baking dish and added a 1/2 cup of water, then cooked in a 375° oven for about 45 minutes. While I was cooking the chicken I hard boiled 4 eggs for my chicken salad. I just recently discovered the correct way to hard boiling an egg.

*Put the eggs in a pot, make sure they don’t crack, fill the pot with cold water so the water covers the eggs about 1 inch. If you add salt to the water it makes it easier to peel the eggs later, I was completely missing this steps. Add the lid to the pot, bring the water to a boil, once the water boils remove the pot from the heat, but don’t take off the lid, you don’t want the water to cool too quickly. Leave the eggs in the hot water for 10-15 minutes then chill the eggs by running them under cool water.

Ingredients

2 lbs cooked chicken breast, cut into small bite-sized pieces
4 hard boiled eggs, chopped. I only used the egg whites, but it’s your preference
1/2 red onion, chopped
2 stalk celery, chopped
1/2 cup crushed walnuts
1/2 cup mayonnaise, or more if you like (I used a little more)
1 teaspoon curry
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 fresh ground pepper

Combine all ingredients in a large bowl and mix.

My husband ate two sandwiches last night and one this morning, I don’t even know why I worry anymore. I guess it’s rotisserie chicken tonight.

Curried Chicken Salad

One Response

  1. I love curried chicken salad and this looks great.. For an interesting variation, try a recipe for Coronation Chicken. I think you might like it too. Your blog is just great.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

